Where’s the Nikwax??

I don’t know if you’ve noticed in the sidebar, but there now a link to a little blog I keep for my garden. It’s where I indulge my need to post pictures of robins and roses and suchlike. I made a post detailing the things I ordered from a nursery a week or two ago. Anyway, point is, they all came today. The weather was not good. Very windy in the AM and very rainy in the PM. Before the weather switched over to the afternoon’s downpour I went outside to try to get some of them in the ground. I started with the items going along the perimeter of the house, which was probably a mistake. For some reason, someone thought it a brilliant plan to put 6 inches of pokey red rocks all around the house, even in areas obviously meant for plant bedding. Rocks are not good mulch, even crappier as soil! Also, as the garden hadn’t been tended for a while, there were many stubborn things to be uprooted. We now have several square feet of dirt where I pulled out things that had invaded the lawn. I like naturalized gardens, so long as everyone knows their place! I also found yet another random pipe coming out of the ground. Nobody knows anything about the workings and history of this house as it’s so old so there’s no chance of my knowing if it’s important or not. I managed to get in the salix (mini pussy willow!), the two jasmines, and the australian mint bush (smells gorgeous, truly). I was wet, but doing alright until the rain soaked through my army coat (stupid me, not having waterproofed it..) and water dripped down my soaked hair and into my eyes. I started to dig up more rocks but finally admitted to myself that I had probably best go inside. I tend to get a bit obsessively focused on things, sometimes ignoring good sense (people who know me are probably pointing and laughing :P). So I sheltered the remaining plants reasonably, and gave up for the day. I really hope the weather improves tomorrow. BBC weather is being a tease.

Joseph, my dear child, has developed some interesting Britain-specific quirks. I found him a couple hours ago sitting on the couch with a dozen or so stuffed animals watching Mock the Week, one of the UK’s more cynical current events quizcoms.

So, I have some photos. I may as well post Nyssa’s birthday pictures separately, as there are quite a lot.


In a bid to save money and make Jamie proud I redid an old purse that was missing its handle. I love the tacky owls ever so much. The handle is also in that fabric.


The new stripes in my hair. The lady didn’t want to lighten my hair all at once, so she’s going to do a few sessions of highlighting. That would be the reason for the evil blonde. I dunno, now that it’s got a weird red in it, I don’t hate it nearly so much. My hair is finally growing out as well. The ladies said my hair was a such good shape. I had to laugh. It’s because I never style it and don’t wash it any more than I absolutely have to. It’s nice that there are *some* areas of life where the path to health is laziness.


This just makes me happy. Organized gift wrapping stuff.


Last week we went to the zoo! Joseph took our pictures. Not bad! This is the first time I hauled out the winter coat this season.


What’s this? What poor little thing is the losingest animal today?


Aww..


In the education building. Hmm..


A homeschool mum was nice enough to organize a talk for us on the Budongo chimpanzees and the local villagers.


Carrying things on your head is harder than it looks.


Aw…a stuffed penguin is extra pathetic.


Maybe he misses his friend.


I wonder what he’s thinking about. I find it interesting that he puts his hands between his knees when he lays on his side as I do.


This is a nifty sculpture.


They have just one polar bear.


I heard an enormous amount of screeching and thought the chimpanzees were running riot. Turns out a bunch of kids from a primary school had turned up at the playground. At one point a chimp, who was in the cage adjacent, did come up and yell at them in a ‘hey you kids, get off the lawn!’ sort of way. The photo above is telling. If *Nyssa* thinks people are being too loud…hehe.


Gorgeous male leopard. His spots are visible in the sunlight.


I just don’t know what to make of this. The poor cat was obviously stressed, as he was pacing back and forth endlessly.


That said, they are in a desperate situation. There have got to be some in captivity with those numbers to ensure that they aren’t lost forever.


Another beautiful cat.


Badgerbadgerbadgerbadger…this little guy was so hard to photograph! He just trots and trots all about.


I had never seen a Pallas Cat before. He is just completely charming!


He was even obliging enough to wash his little face while I was watching. He is terribly covetable, I must admit.


A fairly excellent facial expression.


Jamie loves lemurs. We found him a wee one in the gift shop on the way out.


He has such a fascinating face. OK OK, I realize my commentary is lame. I’m no Attenborough. Moving right along..


On the train home, we had to stop for a while on the bridge. That’s always fun. At least I had the leisure to get some pictures of the road bridge.


On Tuesday we went to help at Pillars. Our chore this week was a most excellent one-we got to harvest the rest of the cucumbers and tear down the plants. The kids were very pleased to get to take a few home.


I do so love polytunnels.


I also like an excuse to pass an afternoon in an army jacket, garden gloves, and a weird hat.


I covet this house and its climbing maple-looking plant.


Joseph designed, built, and painted a really fantastic lightsaber. Does this mean I don’t have to buy him one for his birthday? 😉


My hopelessly spoilt cats–I’ve made them beds next to me at the computer. Well, it makes them so happy! And I have no shame when it comes to my kitties.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Where’s the Nikwax??”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Oh your zoo photos are great! We went there today. Do you have season tickets? The big cats make me feel sad too. I have never seen the wolverine but I did see a honey badger in the wild once so…. My best bits of today were the gibbons and the baby tapir. I love the giant anteater too but I’ve only seen him once. J’s favourites are the Rainbow Lorikeets.

    Tracy

    • Anonymous Says:

      PS See facebook for my blurry zoo photos.

      DAMN THE ANTI-SPAM ROBOTS ARE SO HARD! IT TOOK ME 4 GOES OF VISUAL AND AUDITORY TO POST THIS!

Leave a Reply

