Manhattan Chowder

When I was pregnant, I lived on Campbell’s Manhattan Clam chowder. I know, it sounds gross, but the broth was spicy enough to help with nausea and the potatoes made it seem like I was actually getting some food down. Anyway, I was thinking about it the other day when I was feeling ugh, and wondered if I couldn’t make a passable vegetarian version. I came up with something that tastes not in the least bit fishy, so I don’t think I can even add a clam in quotes to the recipe title, but James liked it a lot and it has the added benefit of being a slow cooker dish.

1 bunch chopped celery
15 or so small potatoes, chopped (it’s what I had that needed using)
1 can italian style chopped tomatoes
1 1/2 cups V8
1 1/2 cups passata
2/3 cups white wine
2 cups or so weak vegetable stock
2 T worcestershire sauce (biona makes a veggie one)
1 T dried oregano
1 T dried basil
1 1/2 T dried thyme
1/2 t onion powder
tabasco, salt, and pepper to taste

Put the above in the crock pot and turn it on. 😛 Four hours seemed plenty, but that will depend on your machine.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

