A Saturday Rave

..no, not the fun kind with youths and black-lighting. I got a bit sad at the last post being at the top of my page, and I’m not quite inspired enough to tackle all the photos I need to post. So I’m going to do something fairly odd for a cynic like me and blather on about a consumer item I adore!

Which is..

..World’s Best Cat Litter

Why is it so fantastic? I have three indoor cats, and I have tried many kinds of cat litter in order to help my home not smell like a urinal. Friends can attest to some of my failures. Some brands I’ve tried include: Catsan Hygiene (expensive for what ends up being piss-scented mortar), Catsan and Sophisticat Clumping (works fine until you realize you have to chisel up the bottom of the litter tray), Bob Martin Silica Crystals (disgusting within 2 days), Tesco variants of the above (just don’t), and many others. None of the above control smell well, are easy to clean, or are particularly nice on the environment.

I was intrigued by WBCL because it is advertised as flushable and made from corn. The price gave me pause, however. The smallest bag retails for between £8-9. I decided to try it anyway, realizing that the cats might completely reject it.

I decided to do a complete switch-out of the cats’ litter and just hope for the best. When I poured the new litter into the tray I was impressed by the lack of dust and amused by the vague smell of popcorn. I got nervous when the cats investigated because of how confused they looked. Their expressions seemed to say, ‘This is where I poo, but it smells like food! WTF?’ Mitu even ate a bit, which is apparently quite normal. In short order they figured it out though, and all seemed well.

The litter is indeed flushable, assuming you don’t overload the toilet. Maintenance of the tray is a lot easier if you keep it in the bathroom. It sounds wretched, but if you’re like me, that will prompt you to stay on top of cleaning it. The toilet being at hand is a bonus. When we had the tray in the downstairs closet of our last flat, it was not ideal. No air circulates down there and it’s amazing how a flight of stairs will make you ‘forget’ to be fastidious. Out of sight, out of mind–until I would go downstairs to let guests in and start gagging and hunting for the Febreze can. The point is, a problem staring you in the face will get dealt with, and WBCL is effective enough at clumping and controlling odor that keeping the tray in the bathroom is a reasonable option.

Now, being based on corn, a food crop at the centre of much debate these days, I won’t pretend that there aren’t issues with using a corn-based litter. Given the alternatives, I do think this is the best choice, however. Compared to the others, it contains, “no clays, silica, synthetic binding or dust reducing agents.” Nothing is going to landfill, aside from the bag, which I do wish could be recycled. All that goes in the toilet is kitty waste plus corn. Better surely than what the humans are putting in there.. I’d be particularly happy if it were organic, but nothing’s perfect.

As it is “99% dust-free,” the benefit to those in my house with breathing issues is something to note as well.

Now regarding the issue of economics, the website provides this graphic:

Generally, this sort of information is grandly optimistic. The chart above is fairly well spot-on actually. A 17 lb bag costs less than £20 and lasts 2/3 of a month, which works out to about £1 per day. For three cats, that’s just not much of an expense, to be honest.

If you take care to clean the box regularly, you will only have to completely change out the box but rarely, which of course was the most dreaded chore when using all the other litters. This leads me to the only con that comes to mind, which is more of a human issue than anything. If you’re going to leave for a day or more, you must elicit a promise from your other half to stay on top of the tray. The reason for this is that when urine forms a clump in the litter, it doesn’t turn to inpenetrable cement. This is what makes it flushable! This is also a problem when the clump is left too long–it will loosen, get kicked around by the cats, etc. You’ll have tiny bits of dark-colored litter in with your lovely pristine litter. (Note: apparently in the States you can get an ‘extra-stength’ version to help deal with this issue.) The upside is that even then, odor is controlled quite well. Eventually you will need to totally clean out the tray, and perhaps one of the biggest bonuses is that the used litter does not bond to the bottom of your cat tray like other brands, and doesn’t leave it smelling like urinal cake death.

The only thing that remains now is to find a product that will convince certain cats (Mittens!) that there is no call to be so prideful of their offerings that they refuse to bury them. There isn’t a litter in the world that will control the smells of naughty kittens!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

