Lushhhh

You might know I’m a huge Lushie. As in the shop that about knocks you over with scenty bath delights from several doors away. They’ve very recently started selling ‘retro lush’ items on their website, so I snagged a few things this week. Their ‘B Never…’ site is tied in, so I got a few things there as well. I’ve wanted to try their perfumes for a while and took the excuse to order samples. Disappointingly, all of them have either a strange mustiness to them or too much citrus. The closest to someting I could wear is 1000 Kisses Deep. It’s not quite right though. I stuck a bunch of vanilla in it, and it was improved some. Still, don’t really want a perfume I have to doctor, not at that price point, so I continue to search. I wish they would make a perfume from something like their Figs and Leaves soap.

I was a silly sod in ordering the chocolate lip scrub. I’m always keen for a good lip exfoliator, but I should have saved myself money and looked at the ingredient list rather than ordering–it’s just jojoba oil, demerara caster sugar, and vanilla and chocolate extracts. Well, at least I have a cute pot to stick my own concoction in when this batch runs out :P. ’tis very tasty…

I have discovered the best and easiest bathroom air freshener, incidentally. I just stick all my Lush bubble bars on a tray and pop on the counter. Bubble bar slices are brilliant for a couple more reasons. First, they don’t tend to have the really buttery crap that the ballistics usually include that invariably require that you scrub the tub as soon as your bath is over. Also, you can be a cheap b*st*rd and use a bar for a few baths rather than just the one.

So, in addition to a bubbly bath and lip exfoliation, I dyed my hair and painted my toenails. That’s extraordinarily self-attentive for me. I tend to go for the semi-groomed yeti look in general. What I do need to do is find a way to make the rest of the household members disappear during daylight hours once in a while so I don’t have to wait until the freaking witching hours to pay attention to myself. Last night I dreamt that I had a whole suite of rooms to myself. I just didn’t know what to do with myself, it was grand.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Lushhhh”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    You just keep getting better!

    I was going to order their perfume sampler but waited until I was in London and went to the shop in Covent Garden instead – didn’t really like any of them enough to buy. But then I do love Karma, I just don’t wear it much anymore becaus people say, “Oh you smell like that soap-cheese shop!”. I really like the little pots of cream perfume actually and my favourite is the champagney one…it smells of grapefruit and I love citrus.

    The one thing that really annoys me about Lush is that they are constantly dropping products in favour of new ones. I like to be able to cling to something I can depend on and I go in and find they’ve discontinued it!

    I’ve recently been using their green-scented body spray (despite being a Lush fan since twenty years ago when they weren’t even called Lush, I STILL cannot remember any of the product names) and can’t decide if I like or hate the smell.

    Tracy

    • rosgen Says:

      My husband would disagree–he’s the one who has to pay for all my perfume missteps 😉

      I like the solid perfumes too..good for losing in my purse without any disasters, though that might change when I visit a warm climate. I love having to take my foibles into account when shopping.

      I definitely don’t envy the people who choose the inventory, especially now that they have online forums for people to yell at them on. It’s funny to ‘see’ grown women rant about the loss of a bath fizzy, say.

      I tried Go Green in the shop because I wanted to love it, but it wasn’t right for me. Because I’m damned picky. 😛

  2. rasjane Says:

    I was so excited to have a Lush in NW Portland. I find that as I get older (maybe?) that I indeed get pickier about my scents. I still like it, it just takes me longer to pick out what I actually want.
    I want to dye my hair again, but it’s a scary prop with such long hair. It’s not like I can just cut it off if I don’t like it! I can’t wait to see pics of your new tresses. 😛

Leave a Reply

