To help me manage a post..

..stealing a meme from Rasjane (see side bar–she is effing brilliant)

1. WERE YOU NAMED AFTER ANYONE?
People assume Lana Turner. Parents insist my name means ‘Light Reborn’ as apparently the sun came out when I was born. I believed this until I gave birth and realized there was no way Ray or I would have been gazing out the window, but aw, bless’em for the sentiment.

2. WHEN WAS THE LAST TIME YOU CRIED?
Few days ago? I’m a sad, desperate individual. And I was such a stoic kid..

3. DO YOU LIKE YOUR HANDWRITING?
Have to admit, I like my scrawling. Well, until white board time.

4. WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE LUNCH MEAT?
Umm..does Arby’s roast beef count? Because that stuff with Arby’s sauce and melted swiss, and maybe even dipped in ranch sauce…*homeresque drooling* If there was an organic Arby’s back home I do believe I’d move back.

5. DO YOU HAVE KIDS?
I have six, three of whom are human, two of whom are minors.

6. IF YOU WERE ANOTHER PERSON WOULD YOU BE FRIENDS WITH YOU?
Yeah..we could trade babysitting. And have loads of snark sessions.

7. DO YOU USE SARCASM?
Never. Srsly.

8. DO YOU STILL HAVE YOUR TONSILS?
Believe so.

9. WOULD YOU BUNGEE JUMP?
I guess if normal life didn’t produce the unnecessary adrenaline the way it does, I might go looking for some in a controlled manner. At the moment, it would take a hell of a lot of Xanax.

10. WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE CEREAL?
Generally, anything with the word ‘clusters’ in it. The fancy, unhealthy M&S ones. Grape Nuts with cold milk, assuming I eat them within two minutes of the milk hitting the bowl.

11. DO YOU UNTIE YOUR SHOES WHEN YOU TAKE THEM OFF?
I wear Danskos nearly always. My only tied shoes are either combat boots, or whimsical tied-up-around-the-ankles espadrilles, so, sorta have to.

12. DO YOU THINK YOU ARE STRONG?
In what sense? I have very strong opinions. I’m physically a wimp. Emotionally I’m a bit tenuous. I tend to do well in desperate or emergency situations, for some reason.

13. WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE ICE CREAM?
Oh God, not sure if they still make it, but during the holidays you used to be able to get Ben & Jerry’s in a gingerbread flavor. I also really like peppermint candy and bubblegum. For reals.

14.WHAT IS THE FIRST THING YOU NOTICE ABOUT PEOPLE?
Their accent–because I spend so much time translating :P.

15. What is your favorite color?
Teal, grey, deep reddish orange

16. WHAT IS THE LEAST FAVORITE THING ABOUT YOURSELF?
When my brain decides it needs some Munchausen’s by Proxy playtime with my mind. I also have atrocious posture, little patience, little sympathy for people who seem to be making my life harder, my face and voice communicate irritation or unhappiness when I don’t mean them to, and I’m crap at keeping all the rooms tidy at once.

17. WHO DO YOU MISS THE MOST?
Grandma Hazel and Grandpa Ed

19. WHAT COLOR PANTS AND SHOES ARE YOU WEARING?
Pants like trousers? Dark blue jeans. Pants like underwear? Your bog standard M&S black cotton ones. And also brown faux fur slippers.

20. WHAT WAS THE LAST THING YOU ATE?
This is brilliant–a stale croissant and instant decaff. Yeah, I know.

21. WHAT ARE YOU listening to RIGHT NOW?
TV adverts. I like background noise.

22. If you were a crayon what color would you be?
Mustard Yellow, because that’s the ones all the kids in kindergarten used for naughty drawings ;).

23. FAVORITE SMELLS?
Anything that reminds me of Grandma’s. Cloves, tarragon, limes, coffee brewing, imminent rain, Lush, biscuits (american) baking, lit matches, damp earth, evergreens, kitty heads, little kid necks, James’ shirts, my mom’s lap, my dad just generally.

24. WHO WAS THE LAST PERSON YOU TALKED TO ON THE PHONE?
Nyssa’s dance instructor. A few days ago. No wait, it was James’ dad.

25. DO YOU LIKE THE PERSON WHO SENT THIS TO YOU?
I lurvv her.

26. FAVORITE SPORTS TO WATCH
baseball, horse racing, cricket..they are really good to nap to. I like to catch American Football because it reminds me of my dad.

27. HAIR COLOR?
Unnatural dark brown. Because god messed up.

28. EYE COLOR?
Brown.

29. DO YOU WEAR CONTACTS?
No.

30 FAVORITE FOOD?
Things that involve vinegar, horseradish, limes, garlic, pastry, rice, red leicester, emmental, gruyere, irish cheddar, lager, pistachios…

31. SCARY MOVIES OR HAPPY ENDINGS?
Umm..unrealistically happy endings bother me profoundly, so..not sure. It is fun once in a while to scare the shit out of myself with a scary movie. It’s never fun to want to throw bricks at the TV for showing me glib, dopily happy people.

32. LAST MOVIE YOU WATCHED?
Stardust.

33. WHAT COLOR SHIRT ARE YOU WEARING?
reddish-orange

34. SUMMER OR WINTER?
Well, summers this far north have lots of daylight, but the climate is rubbish. Winters this far north have no daylight, and, well, the climate is rubbish. I guess I prefer the Scottish summer.

35. HUGS OR KISSES?
Hugs. I tend to loathe kisses on my face (I’m seriously odd), unless of course from my kids. Or the cats.

36. FAVORITE DESSERT?
I’m on a lemon kick, so either lemon cheesecake, or lemon tart, or lemon and white chocolate something..that reminds me, I’ve wanted to come up with a cookie recipe involving the latter.

37. MOST LIKELY TO RESPOND?
Um? Or did you mean who would most likely also do this meme rather than what I’m mostly likely to reply to people? I’m neural-activity challenged as a general state. I have no idea who even reads this, much less who would want to do a meme.

38. Least likely to respond?
Again..

39. WHAT BOOK ARE YOU READING NOW?
The Highway Code. My theory test is in two days!

40. WHAT IS ON YOUR MOUSE PAD?
Coffee cup, some wrappers, a glove, an advert, my passport, some hemp lotion..

41. WHAT DID YOU WATCH ON TV LAST NIGHT?
A whole lot of Veronica Mars and Deep Space 9. Geek rawk.

42. FAVORITE SOUND?
The kids giggling when they’re trying to be surreptitious about something. The cats chirping. Babies who are crying in that desperate ‘oh my god they’re going to let me starve!!’ kind of way. Bob Dylan’s ‘Buckets of Rain.’

43. ROLLING STONES OR BEATLES?
I can’t listen to the Stones without a mental image of Mick Jagger, so the latter! Though Sir Paul’s not looking so hot these days either..

44. WHAT IS THE FARTHEST YOU HAVE BEEN FROM HOME?
Well, it was the UK..until it became my home. So is it now Seattle? 😉

45. DO YOU HAVE A SPECIAL TALENT?
Shaking my eyeballs from side to side really rapidly. At some point I sang fairly well, but I keep coughing up rust, it’s been so long.

46. WHERE WERE YOU BORN?
Pullman, Washington

Right, think I’ll finish right there. We’re getting a cold snap here, and my fingers are about frozen now. Good night all.

Tags: ,

One Response to “To help me manage a post..”

  1. rasjane Says:

    Aww, I lurvv you too!
    Hopefully it will be plenty warm here in May and you can warm up then. 😛
    Good luck on your test!!!

Leave a Reply

