Ohhhhh goodness.

Many things have been going on; good, bad, and irritating.

So the neighbor needs to get into the attic to shut off the water, because the ass-hats who split the building up were cheap and didn’t give everyone their own whatsits. I go down and chat with the neighboress and IT WOULD SEEM, having been mentioned in passing, THAT THERE IS LEAD IN OUR WATER. How lovely, that we give money to charities to help sort out the water for people in other countries, whilst our own hasn’t managed it yet. Even more lovely, how our landlord hasn’t deigned to enlighten us of the fact. For a year and a half. First thing Monday, it’s me with a water sample down to Environmental Services, and James on the phone to the letting agent. One potential good of all this–perhaps now I have a tangible excuse for my brain-deadedness. Argh.

James is happy these days–he got a raise, won an xbox 360 at work for a project of his, and got a big flat-screen tv on his new year’s tech budget. I uh..hmm. I’m expecting at least a card this Valentine’s Day :P. Actually, James is going to get me a new PC that can hook up to the tv. The kids will be able to play pc-rom games like never before. Wowww.

Homeschooling is going fine, though there’s the occasional hiccup due to ill-health, my insomnia, and the crap weather that makes the idea of outings unappealing. I’ve come up with the most pleasant way of getting up in the morning of my parenthood so far–every morning the kids come jump in bed with me with their math workbooks. I can sort of hazily answer their questions as I come to full (well, as full as it gets) consciousness. Nyssa is loving her flamenco (stomps) and highland dance (jumps). Joseph is loving getting to learn awesome skills in gymnastics.

Of personal note, I’ve put things on ebay for sale. Yesss. So that’s not a big deal, but it’s fun for a dork like me to will people to buy my crap. Ebay rules–it’s like a yard sale without the loss of dignity. Hehe.

Best news perhaps, we’re finally going to catch up with Battlestar Gallactica–and on a big screen, I’m almost not annoyed that it took this long!

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Ohhhhh goodness.”

  1. fairylaura Says:

    Lead? Ah, crap. I had the same problem at uni, but at least they told us.

    I wish I was there to see Nyssa dance flamenco and watch Joseph do crazy gymnastics. *beams*

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Lead? Ugh. I would be FURIOUS!! Give ’em hell.
    Good luck with your e-bay auctions. Carefull, it’s known to be addictive once you realize people are willing to pay cold hard paypal for your stuff.
    I like your morning idea. Wonder if I can get my kiddos to go for it?

  3. mereoamor Says:

    Only just got your message now, Don’t quite frequent LJ quite too much.

    Its been a long time and I’m not sure if the opening statement about selfishness was a jibe or not.

    However it is good to hear you’re still doing well. Its been a very long time

Leave a Reply

