Happy New Year

So, it’s a new year. That is, for the foreseeable future it’s me cursing at myself and scribbling out the ‘6’ at the end of dates on forms.

The kids are driving me nuts while waiting for brownies to cool, so I’m sitting them on the couch to tag-team read.

Christmas was nice. I think the nicest thing actually was hanging around Oxford town centre for a while by myself. The highlight was sitting on the second level of a Starbucks, drinking my annual gingerbread latte and spacing out at the shoppers below. It’s been a while since I did that. Now if only the shopping I did was for myself, would have been perfect.

I got a lovely present from James this year. I’d have been pleased with him just buying and wrapping any old thing just so he finally made the effort, but he got me the 2006 Swarovski snowflake set! I’ve been wanting a collection of those for years, hurrah!! I also got the Napoleon Dynamite special edition DVD, sweet. Other things as well, in fact not sure what they all are yet as I have to get them from the royal mail depot, if it ever decides to open. Silly me, popping by there today thinking there would be no reason for them not to be open on the 2nd. Speaking of closures, the council office at the end of the street we live on was closed to all today due to the insane winds over the weekend beating the hell out of the globe weathervane whatsit. It looks really funny, all askew, but until they get it down it apparently is putting anyone who dares come near the building in dreadful peril. Glad I didn’t make any plans in the city for Hogmaney, would have been blown away.

James related to me today Joseph’s shared mental processes in picking out my presents. As usual, they kids picked out some of their own things and wrapped them for me, bless. Joseph picked out an old tube of lotion after considering the fact that I use it all the time, and if I lost my tube, another one would come in really handy. He also wrapped two rather worn boxes of wikki sticks, which are little wax covered modeling stick things, after remembering that I liked playing with them.

Nyssa has been a cheese today. Joseph was wheedling her about something this morning, and she looks at him squarely and says, ‘No. I know that look.’ This evening, she’s bugging me when I’m in the kitchen and when I try to shoo her, she pleads, ‘but Mom! I’m addicted to you!’ Har.

Better go check the brownies I guess.

Tags: ,

One Response to “Happy New Year”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    mmmm brownies…

    Sounds yummy.
    I love the thought processes of Michael as he goes to pick out presents for others too. He really wanted to get dad one of the computer games that was on his own list. To insure it made it under the tree??

Leave a Reply

