Deep breath, then back into it

So, now ends a good solid month of friends and family visiting and generally spoiling the kids rotten. The kids have been fairly upset, Joseph in particular who has a hard time with the frustration of always having to say goodbye to people. Tomorrow is the first day of what we might consider a ‘normal’ homeschool week we’ll have had in a long time. The kids have some new activities starting, and looking at my calendar, it looks rather formidable. Technically, the kids have one day per fortnight that isn’t scheduled, and that has often been a day of socializing with other homeschoolers. It will be interesting anyway, though I reiterate my whinge for a car. I have to wonder how kids in school cope with so many activities. Then again, I lived and breathed the extra-curricular life in my youth and really loved it. I think in any situation, it’s the parents who take the brunt of the exhaustion :P.

I was saying tomorrow would be a back to ‘normal’ day. Thinking about it, that’s not entirely true. James and Joseph have built a marvelous dalek costume for Jos out of styrofoam, cardboard, and apple crate bumpy whatsits. Tomorrow, Mum has to come up with a way to make it look like Dalek Sec (does anyone else think it’s totally fruity that those four daleks had names and announced them to those present like so many Power Rangers?). At least that Dalek is mostly black and not some insane bronze color that would require gallons of carcinogenic paint. Looking at the two Js on the floor, I totally envy my boy. My parents were too busy and tired and had too many kids to have the energy for that sort of thing. Not to mention the mess! *sigh* That leads to what will be the other half of my day tomorrow–getting the house back in order!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

